Rhode Island Nursing Home Laws and Regulations
Throughout the US, individual states are going steps beyond anything the federal government has set forth in order to quell the ongoing problem of nursing home abuse and neglect. If you live in the state of Rhode Island and you have a loved one in a nursing home or assisted living facility, then it is vital that you know more about the laws in order to protect your loved one. If any law is being broken, then you will need to report this. Let’s take a look, then, at Rhode Island nursing home laws and regulations so that you will have a better understanding of everything.
In Rhode Island, all concerns about elderly abuse are handled by the DEA Protective Services Unit. And, this unit will handle cases involving adults over the age of 60. Abuse can take place, according to state laws, by caregivers, family members, a person with duty of care, and abuse can take the form of:
So, according to Rhode Island nursing home laws and regulations, patients have the right to live without any of these forms of abuse or neglect when they are living in any type of assisted living facility.
Rhode Island has even attempted to ensure abuse is reported as much as possible. If a professional sees abuse or neglect and they fail to report this, then they could face a fine of $1,000. This is designed to ensure people in positions of responsibility do not ignore signs of concern.
The Three Main Laws
When it comes to Rhode Island nursing home laws and regulations, there are three different specific statutes:
The Elderly Violence Prevention Act
The Citizens’ Commission for the Safety and Care of the Elderly
The Elderly Affairs Department: Abuse of Elderly Persons
These are in addition to the federal laws set forth in order to prevent nursing home abuse.
Personal Injury and Wrongful Death
As a general rule, Rhode Island nursing home laws and regulations qualify nursing home abuse and neglect either under personal injury or wrongful death depending on the situation. The state does not put any cap on these cases, meaning compensation can be received based on the judge and the situation. In fact, in wrongful death cases, the minimum compensation is $250,000.
By not capping these cases, the state of Ohio has made it very hard for nursing homes to recover from abuse cases, which in turn, makes the facilities more interested in keeping the problem from arising.
If you have a loved one in a nursing home or an assisted living facility, and you have reason to believe abuse or neglect is taking place, then you need to report this as soon as possible.
You can file an elderly abuse report through the DEA Protective Services Unit, and you can call them at 401-462-3000. You can also call the Rhode Island Elder Abuse Hotline at 800-322-2880.
It is vital that you report any suspected cases of nursing home abuse or neglect even if you are uncertain. Then, the right agency will research this and make sure your loved one is well taken care of. Rhode Island nursing home laws and regulations are designed to protect the elderly, and that’s why they actually encourage abuse or suspected abuse cases. You can look up more information on specific types of abuse and cases by visiting the Division of Elderly Affairs here. This will give you access to reporting, rules, and even how to get aid when seeking legal advice. Rhode Island nursing home laws and regulations will protect your loved one’s rights.